Conference “Transformation Groups 2017″
Moscow, December 14–18, 2017

dedicated to Prof. Ernest B. Vinberg
on the occasion of his 80th birthday

The conference will be held at the
Skolkovo Institute of Science and Technology (Skoltech),
Independent University of Moscow and
Faculty of Mathematics of Higher School of Economics

The conference is aimed to review recent developments in Transformation Group Theory, to present the most bright recent achievements in this area, and to discuss the perspectives of further research.
Professor Vinberg has been (and still is) a major expert and active researcher in Lie groups and algebras, discrete and continuous transformation groups, algebraic groups and invariant theory. He has invented numerous methods, proposed many conjectures, solved a number of difficult and deep problems (both alone and with his collaborators) and served as a Ph.D. advisor of many notable researchers in the several areas related to Transformation groups.

The conference is not intended to focus on a narrow set of problems, but rather to present a broad look at recent progress in the field, highlighting new techniques and ideas.

Main topics of the conference

  • Algebraic groups and Geometric Invariant theory;
  • Transformation groups in Differential geometry and Analysis;
  • Structure and representation theory of Lie algebras and their generalizations;
  • Discrete subgroups of Lie groups and discrete transformation groups.

Organizing and supporting institutions

  • National Research University Higher School of Economics
  • Independent University of Moscow
  • Skolkovo Institute of Science and Technology
  • Interdisciplinary Scientific Center Poncelet
  • Clay Mathematics Institute
  • National Science Foundation
  • Russian Foundation for Basic Research

Organizing committee

  • Michael Finkelberg (HSE & Skoltech)
  • Ivan Losev (Northeastern U)
  • Leonid Rybnikov (HSE)
  • Evgeny Smirnov (HSE & IUM)
  • Vladimir Zhgoon (HSE)

If you have any questions concerning the conference, please email at –

Official conference site